Norwood For Men

Norwood For Men


The Norwood classification, published in 1975 by Dr. O’tar Norwood, is the most widely used classification for hair loss in men. It defines two major patterns and several less common types (see the chart below). In the regular Norwood pattern, two areas of hair loss–a bitemporal recession and thinning crown–gradually enlarge and coalesce until the entire front, top and crown (vertex) of the scalp are bald.

There are seven levels of loss in the Norwood scale:

Norwood 1
Normal head of hair with no visible hair loss.

Norwood 2
The hair is receding in a wedge-shaped pattern.

Norwood 2a

Norwood 3
Same receding pattern as Norwood 2, except the hairline, has receded deeper into the frontal area and the temporal area.

Norwood 3a

Norwood 3v

Norwood 4
Hairline has receded more dramatically in the frontal region and temporal area than Norwood 3 and there is the beginnings of a bald spot at the back of the head.

Norwood 4a

Norwood 5
Same pattern as Norwood 4 but much-reduced hair density.

Norwood 5a

Norwood 5v

Norwood 6
The strip of hair connecting the two sides of the head that existed in Norwood 4 and 5 no longer exists in Norwood 6.

Norwood 7
Norwood 7 shows hair receding all the way back to the base of the head and the sides just above the ears.